I’m a Little Tea Cup

A woman is like a tea bag – you can’t tell how strong she is until you put her in hot water.

Eleanor Roosevelt

I suppose this quote is apropos to my life at the moment, since, in the last several months, I’ve developed a slight fascination with tea and because during the last two days, my schedule has filled up faster than I thought possible.  Ten days from now, I’ll be starting the fall term at the University and teaching six courses.  I’ve also promised myself that I will post on this site every weekday (crosses fingers) AND that I’ll have To Catch a Wolf available to my audience by a very swiftly approaching deadline, which will remain unannounced. If there aren’t enough irons in my fire to boil hot water, I’m not sure how many will be.

Still, I’ve always worked well under pressure, and here lately I’ve taken to dealing with that pressure by having a cup–be it English Breakfast before bed or oolong when I need to pull an all-nighter to meet my  daily writing quota for the novel. I’m not an Anglophile in the least. And I’ve never been a quitter, so let us hope that come December, I’ll have survived the kettle, steeped and settled into a nice cozy for wintertime, needing nothing more than milk and two sugars. . . and perhaps a nice long book.

2 thoughts on “I’m a Little Tea Cup

  1. Kerri, I too have a slight fascination with tea. If you’ve never been to Teavana in Park Plaza, Little Rock, it is great fun. I recommend peach tranquility for a relaxing evening and the strawberry lemonade is also wonderful.

    I enjoy your writing. I ordered and received my copy of three seventeen, but like you, I’ve had many irons in the fire lately. I look forward to reading it and your new book when available. I know you will meet all your goals. I have always admired your strength and determination.

  2. Hey Kerri! It’s my first comment on your blog! 😀 You picked such a cute title to go with this entry. All I can say is that I admire your determination and energy so much… I had a great time seeing you (and Dr. Who ;)) this weekend. Good luck with everything you do! *hug*

Leave a Reply

