A Sucker for Suspenders: The Day I Fell for a Man in Sepia

While watching an episode of Torchwood (a spin-off of Doctor Who) with my roommates a few minutes ago, I was reminded again of just how much I love a man in suspenders and shirtsleeves.

jack_harkness-john-barrowman-9

John Barrowman as Captain Jack Harkness.

And I know what you’re thinking.  No, it isn’t just because he’s got a pretty face.  For me, there’s just something about men dressing like they’re from the turn-of-the-century or even the 1920s or ’30s that’s immensely appealing.  Here’s another example.

Chris Evans as Jimmy Dobyne in Tennessee Williams’ “The Loss of a Teardrop Diamond”

And finally, here is perhaps the origin of my fascination with that particular fashion:

Leonardo DiCaprio as Jack Dawson in Titanic

It’s even so bad that once I saw a tintype on my Yahoo homepage and got a bit flustered because the man in it was wearing suspenders and had a very nicely groomed mustache. (See a poem on this theme here.)

I suppose I’ve always loved things from times past, times that seem more elegant and genteel from my modern viewpoint.  Earlier today, I was trying on a formal dress and was happy about wearing a corset (albeit one with hook-and-eye closure).  I’m sure that living in a time like that would feel stifling to my modern sense of independence of mind, but a girl can dream, even if it is in sepia tones.

One thought on “A Sucker for Suspenders: The Day I Fell for a Man in Sepia

  1. If it makes you feel better, I love buttoned-up velvet waistcoats (but you probably already knew that ;)). People dressed so much prettier back then, especially men…

Leave a Reply

