From Sit-Coms to Surgeons to Serial Killers: My Favorite Shows on TV

Because it’s Friday, here are ten of my favorite television shows of the past and present in no particular order after the top three.

  1. Friends, NBC (1994-2004). Six young friends live in The Village in NYC. I own the whole sit-com on DVD, and it’s still funny after all these years.
  2. Boy Meets World, ABC (1993-2000). A pre-teen boy grows up in Philadelphia and learns life lessons from Mr. Feeny along the way. I own all these episodes too, and I’m still waiting to meet my own Cory Matthews.
  3. ER, NBC (1994-2009). A med student, John Carter, begins his residency at Cooke County Hospital in Chicago. This and Friends were part of my regular Thursday night ritual the whole time they aired.
  4. Downton Abbey, BBC (2010-Present). Robert Crowley, the Earl of Grantham, and his family’s lives change forever when the heir to the title and estate drowns on the Titanic. It’s a period piece produced by the BBC; what else do I need to know?
  5. Doctor Who, BBC (2005-Present). A humanoid alien travels all of time and space with various companions and has countless adventures in a blue box-shaped spaceship, all the while saving humanity from themselves or hostile alien races. David Tennant? I’m there.
  6. Grey’s Anatomy, ABC (2005-Present). Meredith Grey learns what it means to be a doctor when she takes her first job at Seattle Grace Hospital. It’s no ER, but it fulfills my constant need for a medical drama in my life.
  7. Criminal Minds, CBS (2005-Present). Members of the Behavioral Analysis Unit of the FBI use their collective profiling skills to catch serial killers. I’ve gotta have at least one murder/suspense drama to try and puzzle out.
  8. Once Upon a Time, ABC (2011-Present). All the characters from traditional fairytales are cursed by a wicked queen and sent to our world, where they have no memory of their magical pasts. Any story with princes and magic has be on my list…especially if it’s affiliated with Disney!
  9. Grimm, NBC (2011-Present). Detective Nick Burkhardt discovers that there’s more to fighting against evil than just being a cop when his aunt lets him in on a little secret–He’s a Grimm, and it’s his job to protect humans from the monsters that the original folk fairytales dipict. Again, if fairytales are involved, I’m all in.
  10. Supernatural, CW (2005-Present). Two gorgeous but troubled brothers spend their days cris-crossing the country in a black 1967 Chevy Impala, hunting down the monsters and demons that most people don’t believe in. If there wasn’t enough sex-appeal in the show already, the Winchesters had to befriend a ridiculously good-looking angel in a trench coat. I couldn’t stop watching this show even if I wanted to.

Honorable Mentions:

  • Magnum, P.I.
  • M.A.S.H.
  • The Practice
  • Crossing Jordan
  • Law & Order: SVU
  • NCIS
  • Law & Order
4 thoughts on “From Sit-Coms to Surgeons to Serial Killers: My Favorite Shows on TV

Leave a Reply

